Pitch bending technology for free reed musical instruments
The Moon Is Blue

Kenny Kotwitz is an experienced professional pianist, composer, and jazz accordionist.  Originally from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, he now lives in Simi Valley, California, with wife, Mary, a professional singer, teaching, composing and performing, and both team up for some of the most enjoyable and unique interpretations of the American Song Book, in their latest CD, The Moon is Blue.

Kenny began his career in his teens and continues to entertain with originality and musical discrimination, and his portfolio includes scores for publishing houses and many recordings in motion pictures and television, accumulating experience with some of the very best in the music profession.  He is often invited to play at festivals and gatherings and has appeared in the US, Finland, France, Switzerland, Italy, Canada, and Central America. 

Kenny's first CD, Front Street, was a breakthrough in accordion musicianship, composing, and arranging, blending the instrument with others in an exciting jazz setting.  We introduce here his latest CD, The Moon is Blue, as the first professional recording made with a pitch bending accordion. 

Sound Files

Musical excerpts are provided below, in compressed file format.  Sound quality is thus not up to CD standards, but the listener should still be able to discern the high professional level of this CD. 

Swing Medley (80 sec): It Don't Mean a Thing (If it Ain't Got That Swing)
Air Mail Special (67 sec)
Soon (116 sec)

Those interested in purchasing the The Moon is Blue can do so by sending a $17.00 check or money order ($15.00 for the CD and $2.00 for postage and handling) made out to Kenny Kotwitz Music, to Kenny Kotwitz, 346 Bonita Drive, Simi Valley, CA 93065, or you can email Kenny.

More on The Moon Is Blue
In the Moon is Blue, Kenny and Mary have put together a rich mixture of musical perspectives, from original ballads to hard driving standards, with all arrangements by Kenny. 

"This is one of the best Accordion CD's I've ever heard.  Very good arrangements, along with nice vocals by Kenny's wife, Mary, and Don Shelton of Singers Unlimited.  Most jazz accordionists would love to be able to bend a note just like Toots Thielemons does on his harmonica.  Now, Kenny can do it whenever he likes on the new BluesBox Accordion.  Listen to what he does on 'One For My Baby'... You'll know what I mean.  This CD is a must for every jazz enthusiast."  --Art Van Damme

Complete Song List:

1. Swing Medley (4:23) It Don't Mean a Thing (If it Ain't Got That Swing), Sing Sing Sing (With a Swing)

2. The Jitterbug Waltz (4:02)

3. The Moon is Blue (3:21)

4. At the Heart of a Song (4:18)

5. A Mood Swing (5:41)

6. Maple Leaf Rag (4:14)

7. No Ordinary Miracle (5:59)

8. Soon (4:14)

9. I Thought About You (4:02)

10. Air Mail Special (2:35)

11. One for My Baby (5:05) (And One More for the Road)

12. Reprise: The Moon is Blue (1:33)

Total playing time: 49:39